Fiscal Year 19 ccNSO Council election

Following  the  conclusion  of  the elections  among  the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) Country Code Names Supporting Organisation (ccNSO)  members  from  the European  region  and  the  recent  adoption  of  the Election Report by  the  ccNSO Council during its December 2018 meeting, the following candidates will take their seat on the ccNSO Council at the end of ICANN64 in Kobe, Japan:

  • Africa: Biyi Oladipo (.ng) – new
  • Asia-Pacific: Jordan Carter (.nz) – new
  • Europe: Nick Wenban-Smith(.uk) – new
  • Latin America/Caribbean: Demi Getschko (.br) – reappointed
  • North America: Pablo Rodriguez (.pr) – reappointed

The ICANN64 Public Meetings will hold from 9th to 14th March 2019 at Kobe, Japan.

At  the  end  of the ICANN63 Public Meetings held in  Barcelona,  Spain,  the  Nominating Committee (NomCom)  appointees  to  the  ccNSO Council took their  seats: Laura  Margolis from Uruguay was  appointed  for  a  three-year  term, whereas Dr. Ajay Data from Rajasthan, India was appointed for a two-year term. The Nominating Committee is charged with recruiting and selecting a portion of ICANN’s leadership and is mandated to  ensure  that  ICANN’s  overall  leadership  is  diverse  in  geography,  culture,  skills, experience, and perspective.

Usually the ccNSO Council members consist of 18 council members, fifteen appointed by the ccNSO members and three Councillors selected by ICANN’s nominating committee (NomCom).


Comments are closed.